Gratitude

Have you ever wondered what is life, or your purpose in life?  Is it measured by the success you have in your life?  You’re better than all others because you make more money?  Is it a status? I ask myself this question almost every day.  People call me I’m sensitive or think too much, but well, that’s who I am.  I can’t help it.
We have this maintenance guy working in our condo for the past five months or so.  He’s probably in his late 20’s.  And I must say, I’ve never seen anyone who works so hard with a smile on his face.  Let’s be honest, whatever he does is something we all want to avoid to do.  He cleans trash, doggy poop bins on the lawn we have for the dog owners which smell horrible, and he maintain the integrity of our condo (the way it looks from  inside and out) all by himself, every morning and day.   It’s not an easy job, and that’s why I’ve seen different guys come and go and never stayed longer than two months to keep their job.  But he’s different.  He never mopes around and thinking to himself how sorry he is that he has to clean or maintain the condo.  Yes, maybe he needs this job when it’s so hard to find any job these days.  But still, I’m always impressed how hard of a working man he is.
Then last week, we stopped seeing him for two days.  We usually see him either first thing in the morning riding the cart, or working on something throughout afternoon.  It looks like the trash has been cleaned, but no visual of the maintenance guy.  The next day the same thing.  I was like, “Hm, that’s strange.”  Then I was playing with my daughters outside when my neighbor walked up to me and asked, “Hey Maki, have you seen Brent? I haven’t seen him for a few days.”  I said, “No. Actually I was wondering the same thing.  I wonder what happened to him.”  So my neighbor asked another neighbor and they had no clue where he was.  We were all worried and saying, “Bet, he got tired of working here too.  What are we going to do?  He’s such a sweetheart and work so hard..”
That evening, I bumped into another neighbor Lisa who often rides in cart to keep him company.  I asked, “Lisa, what happened to Brent?  Did he quit?”  — “Oh no, he’s still here.  Actually someone didn’t shut the pipe and water in the pool is gone.  So, he’s been busy taking care of that.”  So I told her how people in the neighborhood were worried that he quit or something happened to him, and that we’re sort of lost without him taking care of our condo so nicely.
I truly believe that our condo is better because how hard he spends his time taking care of it.  We used to have a serious problem with dog poop before (I talked about it here in my old blog ->here ) but now I see less and less of poop on the lawn.  I hope the residents see how hard he tries and works to maintain our condo for us that they want to do their part to help it.  We can’t have a beautiful property just wanting it, you have to work for it too.  And that’s what he’s taught us.  How wonderful is that?   I hope he knows how much he’s appreciated by us…  Thank you, Brent!!!
*{Image by Me – the photo of our condo which our maintenance guy takes good care of..}*

About barefootchic*

A 30-something who loves fashion, all forms of art, music, films and cooking. Painting is my true passion and started my own small business in the winter of 2009. In my spare time, I'm busy running around with two most beautiful daughters in the world, and taking care of the house while my husband works and commutes two different states.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gratitude

  1. erica says:

    awww! what a sweet post! there’s 2 maintenance guys in my office building…one sounds just like brent, the other…the exact opposite. needless to say, everyone loves the “brent” guy better and even finds that he does a better job than his grouchy “superior”….even at my condo, the 2 maintenance guys are alway so cheerful, helpful and polite. it really makes a difference :)

  2. carrin says:

    I can tell that you and your other condo residents really appreciate Brent. I’m sure he knows that and that is part of the reason he does such a good job for you guys.
    I’ll never forget when someone says thank you to me or gives me a little “gift” (usually a cup of coffee) for just doing my job and doing it well. I don’t really think anything about doing my job correctly or being friendly but it sure is nice when you realize other people appreciate your job well done!

  3. katy seawolf says:

    you don’t think too much at all. people in this culture think too little. you just keep plugging away at finding your purpose in life. once you find it, it’ll make a phenomenal difference in your life.

    aww, how sweet! dang, i wish everybody was as happy and content with there jobs as he is. the world would be allot easier to live in, wouldn’t it? :)

  4. Nicole-Lynn says:

    That is very sweet of you to notice his hard work. You seem like a very sweet, thoughtful person! Great post!

  5. Renée says:

    beautiful post :) xo

  6. Thank you so much everyone!!! Brent is taking a week off right now because his parents are visiting and he hasn’t seen them in two years. He kindly informed me before his leave. Now I don’t have to wonder! LOL

Leave a Reply

