Hope…

The tragedy in Tucson, Arizona reminded us how fragile our lives are.   We never know when is our last goodbye…
I don’t want to talk about politics or what happened that day…  But I can’t deny that we’re so jaded and only care about the things that are so small, but refuse to see it.  I may be too old or uptight, but I feel like we’ve lost something so important that is close to our hearts. What can we do?  What can we do to better ourselves?  
My oldest daughter asked me today, “Mommy, why did he hurt people?”  –  I didn’t know what to say.  Because I know,  evil things do exist.  
That’s when I heard this quote while watching on CNN…
“We recognized our mortality..  We are reminded and the fleeing time that we have on us, what matter is not wealth; not status; not power, but rather how well we loved…”
I couldn’t stop crying because that’s the answer, that I know in my heart, what I need to do as a mother, is to teach my children about life, kindness and love, and how to lead a good life, that we cannot stop trying to be good and find goodness in people.
And hope for a better world…
About barefootchic*

A 30-something who loves fashion, all forms of art, music, films and cooking. Painting is my true passion and started my own small business in the winter of 2009. In my spare time, I'm busy running around with two most beautiful daughters in the world, and taking care of the house while my husband works and commutes two different states.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hope…

  1. Kristin says:

    Wow, you are a great mom! I would not know how to tackle that question if my child asked me that. So tragic!

  2. katy seawolf says:

    a terrible, tragic event. just more proof that we live in such a fallen, hopeless, and helpless world. we all need to be rescued from it and plunged into a peace where we are lifted, hopeful, and helped. we can’t lead those into the peace until we ourselves know it already.

    *sigh.* 😦 my heart breaks for those victims and their families.

  3. Kristin: It’s always hard to talk about death or tragic events to kids – you want to shield them from sad things, you know? But I know we can’t avoid the topic, so you have to find a way… xo

    katy: It’s so true that we live in such a hopeless and helpless world – It’s more dire than ever before. So sad.. I’m weeping still for those victims and families… xo

  4. Jessica says:

    Aww that’s a tough conversation to have and explain to someone so young. I totally agree that it’s so important to look for the good in people, otherwise you lose hope and then everything is lost.

  5. It is painful when our children are old enough to ask that type of question and begin to comprehend our responses. I keep this quote nearby: “Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, and today? Today is a gift. That’s why we call it the present.” — Eleanor Roosevelt

    Though it does not answer “…why did he hurt people” it does give us pause and help us remember to hold on tight to all the wonderful things we have today.

    I hope, as moms, these questions rarely if ever have to be asked of us again.

Leave a Reply

