Soaked iPhone…

I got my iphone 4 past summer after ending my 4 year love affair with Blackberry.   And I almost killed my brandnew relationship with iPhone the other night when I tried to go to the bathroom 1/2 drunk. 
All I heard was a tiny splash sound of something hitting the water.  It took a few seconds to realize what the noise was – and I gasped and turned around only to see my floating iphone.  HORRIBLE!  I picked it up right away even before I got to pee – seriously, that event totally sober me up in a second. 
I’ve been drying the phone in a bag of rice and I’m going to turn it back on tomorrow.  If I can’t get it work, then I am going to take it to an iPhone hospital in town.   They charge to repair the damaged phone for $45 ~ $75.  If they can’t fix it, it’s free.
The worst case scenario, Apple will replace the phone for $200 which is so much cheaper than going through my phone company AT&T because I renewed my contract past summer, so AT&T can’t give me any phones for a dicounted price and more over, iPhone would cost like $500!
I got the iphone mainly because of iPod feature since I can’t live without music.  I hate iphone to compose emails or texts, but overall, I like the phone.  I do still miss my blackberry and I may consider switching back next year.  When it comes to email and texting, Blackberry is handsdown a better device.
I just want my iphone to work because I’ve been using my house phone and facebook as methods of communication.  It’s not that bad, I mean remember the times when we only had pagers and pay phone?    It’s come a long way!!!   But seriously, pray for me everyone!!
About barefootchic*

A 30-something who loves fashion, all forms of art, music, films and cooking. Painting is my true passion and started my own small business in the winter of 2009. In my spare time, I'm busy running around with two most beautiful daughters in the world, and taking care of the house while my husband works and commutes two different states.
This entry was posted in Gudgets and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Soaked iPhone…

  1. Jessica says:

    Sending positive thoughts! Dropping my iPhone in water is my greatest fear. I don’t know what I would do. Keep us posted!

  2. Kristin says:

    OMG! My iPhone is my life and if I ever dropped it in a toilet I’d cry! I’ve dropped another phone in the toilet while drunk so I totally know the feeling though. Typing is not the easiest but it makes my life so much easier with all the features. Hope your iPhone is OK and can come back to life!

  3. Dionne_C says:

    Oh no! Your poor phone! I would cry if I broke mine, I am so hooked on it!

  4. Jessica: Thank you! My iphone is working again – I think the rice bag worked!

    Kristin: Yes, you don’t want to put your iphone in your back pocket of your jeans. But now it’s working again – phew!!!

    Dionne: I think all of us used iphone – and I was predicting the worst, but it turned out my phone is working again fine. It’s unbelieveable!

  5. erica says:

    ohmygoodness! does the rice trick really work??

    • Yeah, it did work!!!! I didn’t lose any data or informations on my iphone which is pretty amazing because I honestly thought I would have to pay at least $200 to replace the phone! Yay!

Leave a Reply

