Good Old Days… {Time Travel}

Today is the 25th anniversary of the Challenger explosion.  I still vividly remember that morning – it was cold, but such a beatufil day.  I was only 12 years old.  I watched it on TV with my dad and I couldn’t believe my eyes.  It was so, so sad to see seven astronauts died like that…
When I think about that sad day, I often think about happy days when I was young.  I’m not too fond of fashion style in the 80’s, but I love many films that came out that generation.  It symbolize my youth and how much I wanted to come to America…
You know, all the Brat Pack and cute stories.  Good old days, indeed…  Now I’m 37…  Amazing how fast time flies.  
Here are some of my favorite movies in the 80’s…

Splash ~ 1984 ~

I really wanted to be a mermaid after I saw this movie.  Daryl Hannah was so charmign in this movie.

                                                       The Flamingo Kid ~ 1984~

Matt Dillon really doesn’t age all that much.  I still adore him.  My favorite scene from this move is when he eats, he always mumbles.  Hilarious.  Also the scene where he eats a soap in the bathroom thinking it’s a chocolate, oh forget it.  It’s such a cute story..

 

The Breakfast Club ~1985~

So many great scenes, not to mention Ally Sheedy plays with dandruff on her hair…

 

St. Elmo’s Fire ~1985~  

I thought this movie was coolest thing ever when I was young.  I wanted to be like Demi.  She was beautiful and her voice was charming.  Yes, I wanted to be like her.  She was such an American girl, you know?

 

Pretty In Pink ~1986~

Molly Ringwald was really cute in this movie.  Jon Cryer from Two and a Half Men doesn’t seem to age, but if you see this movie, yes, he’s old now. 

 

Big ~1988~

Look how young Tom Hanks looks!!!!   He was so good in this movie…
So, my darling, do you remember what were you doing 25 years ago?   What is your favorite 80’s movie?   
Have a lovely weekend!!!

About barefootchic*

A 30-something who loves fashion, all forms of art, music, films and cooking. Painting is my true passion and started my own small business in the winter of 2009. In my spare time, I'm busy running around with two most beautiful daughters in the world, and taking care of the house while my husband works and commutes two different states.
This entry was posted in Beautiful People, Cinema, Hollywood, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Good Old Days… {Time Travel}

  1. erica says:

    he-man & she-rah, care bears, my little pony all rocked my world about 25 years ago.

    when was 16 candles? i LOVE that movie!!!

  2. Dionne_C says:

    Brian and I watched that on the news the other day about the Challenger. hard to believe that much time has gone by!

    I love all these movies. I think the storylines of movies back then were much better than the ones now. Sure the special effects are better now, but I feel like there were more fleshed-out storylines and more remarkable, memorable characters then.

  3. katy seawolf says:

    heh, i was yet to be formed in the womb twenty-five years ago, but ah! love tom hanks. 🙂

Leave a comment