Coming Out of A Hibernation

227947_214799128538543_100000253725855_881362_5053423_n_large
 
It’s been over three months since my last post.    I really don’t know where to start, or what to say except, I’ve missed blogging.  
So many things have happened for the past three months.  My children and I caught the flu-like cold in February – it was so mean that we’re in bed for over two weeks.   My husband being away, and it took a lot longer for me to recover.  Then my youngest daughter’s 5th birthday in the very beginning of March which consumed my time and energy to plan a party for her. 
Then, the earthquakes and tsunami hit Japan…  It was exactly two months ago…  I still can’t believe the extent of the disaster that rocked Japan, and how many people have suffered still today.   My parents still live in Tokyo, and they live in the constant fear of aftershock and radiation from Fukushima Nuclear Plant.  I’m concerned about their safety on daily basis…
With having said that, I must admit that I had been depressed.  I know I’d been depressed for quite some time.  No, I don’t need to see a doctor nor need to take medications, but when you know, you know, and I know I was depressed.   How?
Well, when you stop doing what you love, that’s a sure sign of depression.  For instance, if you stop blogging, that’s one.  Then when you barely go to the gym to work out, that’s another reason because blogging and working out are two of my favorite things to do.
Instead of heading to gym after dropping of my daughters at their schools, I went straight back home and slept.  It’s scary routine… Yes, I was fully functional 90% of time after I pick up my youngest daughter from school at noon, and I have been a good mother, but I didn’t like how I was spending my time in the morning.  It did take a long time, however, to realize what I was doing would only stop me from doing the things I love in my life, and eventually my daughters’.  It’s very scary..  .
I’m glad that I’ve been doing so much better for the past few weeks.  My therapist has also been a great help.  I’ve tried to keep myself busy in the morning; going to breakfast with friends or go to gym, or running errands instead of doing it in the afternoon.   Now I would like to get back to blogging.  I know I don’t want to give too much pressure, and I think I need to take one step at a time.   I hope I can do this…

About barefootchic*

A 30-something who loves fashion, all forms of art, music, films and cooking. Painting is my true passion and started my own small business in the winter of 2009. In my spare time, I'm busy running around with two most beautiful daughters in the world, and taking care of the house while my husband works and commutes two different states.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Things, Health, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Coming Out of A Hibernation

  1. erica says:

    omg maki!!! i’m glad things are getting better for you, i’m so sorry to hear you’ve been depressed 😦 hopefully w/the return of blogging and working out, and positivity, you’ll have more sunshine in your life again!

    hope your family in japan are ok. that was (and still is) such a scary ordeal.
    sending positive thoughts and prayers to you and your family 🙂

    • hi eri!!! i’m sorry too that i was away for so long, but i hope i can do it. yes, my family in japan is okay – many of my parents personal stuff were damaged, but they’re safe. i’m finally feeling good about things, i was a mess thinking about my dad and mom and japan, etc. hope you’re relatives are all okay, eri! xoxo 🙂

  2. carrin says:

    Maki
    I know exactly how you’ve been feeling! I found myself going through the same thing and IT SUCKS! You know how you feel and you know you should just snap out of it but you just can’t do it. I was the same as you, I had to make myself do the little things to help get myself out of my funk. So glad to see that you were able to come around. You are definitely not alone…..
    I hope all is going well for you and your adorable little girls!
    Also glad that your parents are safe. Honestly the first thing I thought of when we heard of the devisation was you and your family. You are all in my thoughts 🙂

  3. katy seawolf says:

    oh yes, that horrible happening in japan. my heart goes out to the people who are there and having to put up with so much. i just have to remind myself that although i can’t do much to help here, i lift them up in my prayers. i’m glad that your parents are safe; that is a huge blessing.

    oh dear, i’m sorry that you’ve been feeling depressed. 😦 it seems that one thing after another keeps hitting you, doesn’t it? keep the mindset that the life you live is worth living, or else you wouldn’t be on this earth. there’s a reason that you’re here, or else you wouldn’t be here. you have beautiful children, a husband, and friends who love you and care about you. there aren’t any coincidences, though there may seem to be. you have been given these people and these things for a reason. you aren’t ever alone. 🙂

    hee, sorry that this is late in my comment, but it’s wonderful to have you back to cyberspace! 😀

  4. Carrin: Thank you so very much. You said it so correctly, that I know I need to snap out of it, but I just can’t do it. I’m doing better, but it’s a challenge on my part.. But I know I’m happy to be back here. Thank you so much. Love you! xoxo

    katy: Thank you. You’re so right.. Sometimes you just don’t see that we’re not alone, that you have beautiful and loving people around you. Thank you for your kind words. 🙂 xo

  5. bonjour, Maki! i truly understand what you’ve been going through…i’ve been there…i often wondered how some of my favourite bloggers do it all…esp. with raising a family. sometimes i feel that there just aren’t enough days to do everything and that my days are quickly slipping as the years go on by…i’ll never forget one stay-at-home mom telling me that what gets her day going is taking a shower and making her face up…a simple act but it made her feel great and helped her face anything coming her way…when i get into a slump, i remember what she told me and quickly remind myself that i’m so blessed to have this opportunity to stay home and raise my 2 lil’ munchkins with so much love! take time for yourself…the things you love to do will be there, patiently waiting for you to create even more beauty! (ps. looking forward to seeing more of the beauty you create here in your part of the world…) xo jo;)

    • Thank you, Jo! Your comment really touched me – I think a lot of times moms lose track with what surrounds our lives – beautiful kids, friends and family, etc. Thank you reminding me of that – and your friend’s tip is so great. I’ll wake up in the morning, take shower and put makeup on. Thanks! xoxo

Leave a comment